Become a member of our team!

We welcome postdocs, graduate students, undergraduate students, volunteers, and more! 


Present group members pictured: (left to right): Dr. Saptasree Bose, Moses Begaye, Concepción Sánchez, Dr. Jessica P. Houston, Kelsey Hayes, Dr. Jesus Sambrano
(Photograph taken June 7, 2019)


Jessica P. Houston, Ph.D, Principal Investigator, NMSU Cytometry and Biophotonics Lab
Associate Professor, Chemical & Materials Engineering, New Mexico State University
Treasurer (2019-2023), The International Society for the Advancement of Cytometry
Scholar (2015-2019), The International Society for the Advancement of Cytometry
Associate Editor, Cytometry Part A
Faculty Fulbright Scholar, Saitama University, Saitama-shi, Japan (2018-2019)
Google Scholar Page

NCBI Bibliography List


Postdoctoral Fellows


Jesus (Jesse) Sambrano Jr., Ph.D.


Saptasree Bose, Ph.D.


Undergraduate Students

  Concepción Sánchez


Kelsey Hayes


Moses Begaye




Former Personnel and Group Archive Pictures


Spring 2019









Spring 2018

Spring 2016


Fall 2015


Fall 2014



Fall 2012


Fall 2011


Spring 2011


Fall 2010


Summer 2010


Fall 2009 and Spring 2010



Past Members of the Houston Laboratory

David Moreno – Undergraduate AMP Research Assistant (Fall 09)
Trevor Jones – Post Bacc Research Assistant (Fall 09-Spring 2010)
Joel Crockett – Undergraduate Research Assistant (Summer 2010)
Rodrigo Martin-Duran – Undergraduate Research Assistant (Summer 2010)
Marie Fulmer – Undergraduate Research Assistant (Summer 2010)
Austin Chavez – Undergraduate AMP Research Assistant (Fall 2010)
Stephanie Franco – Undergraduate Research Volunteer (Spring 2011)
Julie Denning – Undergraduate Research Volunteer (Spring 2011)
Joelle Masangya – Undergraduate Research Volunteer (Fall 2011)
Diana Torres Olague – Undergraduate Research Volunteer (Fall 2011)
Samantha Drake – Undergraduate Research Assistant (Summer – Fall 2011)
Guillermo Acosta, Ph.D. – Postdoctoral Fellow (Aug 2011 – Aug 2012)
Jason Martinez – Undergraduate Research Assistant (REU) (Summer 2012)
Alexandra Arteaga, M.S. – Graduate Student (awarded Fall 2012)
Angelique Whimbley – Undergraduate Research Technician (Summer-Fall 2012)
Frederick Crawford, M.S. – Graduate. Student (awarded Summer 2013)
Eshan Dahal – Undergraduate Research Assistant (Spring 2012-Summer 2013)
Varayini Pankayatselvan – Undergraduate Research Assistant (2012-2014)
Jessica Aughenbaugh – Undergraduate Research Assistant (NMSU BRAiN 2012-2014)
Jennifer Paul – Undergraduate Research Volunteer (Spring 2014)
Diego Gomez – Undergraduate Research Assistant Fall (Fall 2013-Summer 2014)
Patrick Jenkins, M.S. – Graduate Student (awarded May 2012) and Research Associate (2013-2016)
Ruofan Cao, Ph.D. – Graduate Student (awarded May 2015)
Zhihua Yang, M.S. – Graduate Student (awarded May 2016)
Kaylin Beeman – M.S. Graduate Student (awarded Summer 2016)
Benjamin Rutherford – Undergraduate Research Assistant  (NMSU BRIDGES, Summer 2016)
Cassandra Walters – Undergraduate Research Assistant  (USDA IFSEEN Project, Summer 2016)
Chase Delventhal – Undergraduate Research Assistant  (USDA IFSEEN Project, Summer 2016)
Wenyan Li, Ph.D. – Graduate Student (awarded Fall 2016)
Rodrigo Rosalez – Undergraduate Research Assistant (Credit hours, Fall 2016)
Courtney Alston – Undergraduate Research Assistant (USDA IFSEEN Project, Fall 2016, Spring 2017)
David Rodriguez – Undergraduate Research Assistant (USDA IFSEEN and NMSU HHMI, mentored by Dr. Kevin Houston, 2017-2019)
Scott Walls – Undergraduate Research Assistant (USDA IFSEEN, Summer 2017)
Matthew Mena – Undergraduate Research Assistant (NMSU MARC, Fall 2016 – May 2018)
David Stoltzfus – Undergraduate Research Assistant (Spring 2018)
Faisal Alturkistany, -Ph.D. Graduate Student (awarded May 2018)
Kapil Nichani – M.S. Graduate Student (awarded May 2018)
Jianzhi Li – M.S. Graduate Student (awarded July 2018)
Jesus Sambrano Jr. Ph.D. -Graduate Student (awarded July 2018)
Sidney Aguilera – Undergraduate Research Assistant (Credit Hours, Spring 2019)
Ana Natera – Undergraduate Research Assistant (Credit Hours, Spring 2019)
Felicia Rodriguez – Undergraduate Research Assistant (NMSU BRAiN, Spring 2019)